Annalong Cornmill was built in the 1800’s and operated until the 1960’s being one of Ulster’s last working watermills.
The complex contains a grain drying kiln and 3 pairs of millstones. A 15ft waterwheel (a form of technology over 2000 years old) and a 1920’2 Marshall “hot-bulb” 20hp engine power it.
Acquired by Newry and Mourne District Council, restoration began in 1983 and it reopened in 1985.
For further information please contact the cornmill on Tel: 028 437 68736.
Bessbrook still has many traces of the model village shaped by a Quaker linen manufacturer, John Grubb Richardson, around the middle of the 19th Century. Its founder believed that alcohol was the main cause of poverty and crime and decided that Bessbrook has no need for licensed premises, a pawn ship or a police station.
Construction began on Craigmore Viaduct in 1849 and the bridge was opened in 1852. The 18 arch viaduct designed by Sir John O’Neill sweeps across the valley of Camlough River, the highest arch being 126ft making it the highest viaduct in Ireland. The viaduct now carries the Enterprise Train link from Belfast to Dublin.
Construction began on Craigmore Viaduct in 1849 and the bridge was opened in 1852. The 18 arch viaduct designed by Sir John O’Neill sweeps across the valley of Camlough River, the highest arch being 126ft making it the highest viaduct in Ireland. It is around a quarter of a mile in length and it consists of the finest granite from the surrounding countryside. The viaduct now carries the Enterprise Train link from Belfast to Dublin
Creggan Parish Church and Poets Glen
The church on this site was probably founded with the arrival of the O’Neills around 1450, who built their castle at Glassdrummond. All traces of the pre-reformation church have now disappeared although it is likely that the O’Neill Vault was situated underneath the earlier church as the remains of a doorway was found during recent repairs.
This historic graveyard is the burial place of three eighteenth century Gaelic Irish poets: Art Mac Cooey, Paidraig Mac Aliondain and Seamus Mac Murphy (poet and outlaw).
There is a picturesque area adjacent to the graveyard known as the Poet’s Gen where visitors can enjoy the 13 acres of grassland, sculpted garden and river.
Located in Bessbrook, Derrymore House is National Trust owned. The house is set in over 100 acres of beautiful parkland and woodland. The house is an elegant 18th Century thatched cottage, which was built as a country retreat by Sir Issac Corry.
The land was the patrimony of the O’Hanlons, whose property stretched from Armagh to Dundalk, in the mid-50th Century. It was later much reduced, and was eventually forfeited in the reign of James 11607. Derrymore passed from the Bagnals to the Needhams, Earls of Kilmorney and ultimately to the Corry family.